History of The Auditorium

History of The Auditorium

T.K. Hudgens

In 1946, county officials responding to a growing sentiment for a public auditorium, began informal discussions that led to city, county, and legislative action that resulted in the approval of a six-person auditorium commission made up of three city and three county representatives.

Spartanburg resident T.K. Hudgens Jr. served as the auditorium Commission's first Chairman from 1946-1951, with J.L. Campbell of Spartanburg County, serving as the commission's Vice Chairman. 

Representing the County of Spartanburg on the Auditorium's first Commission alongside J.L. Campbell were J.T. Brian of New Prospect, Ben E. Gramling of Gramling. While representing the City of Spartanburg alongside T.K. Hudgens, were Benjamin O. Johnson and Maurice Puckett. Senator Howard McCravy and Mayor Leon Moore served as ex-officio members of the original Commission.

Program Cover

Since 1951

For more than 70 years the Spartanburg Memorial Auditorium has showcased national talent, local entertainment, sporting events, banquets, & trade shows.

In its early years, The Auditorium played a pivotal role in bringing performing arts to South Carolina's Upsate and helped launch the careers of several legendary big name artists including BB King, Loretta Lynn, Ray Charles, James Brown, and Bob Dylan.

SMA was one of the first theaters in the Southeast to be host Broadway shows, and has hosted many original Broadway productions including Oklahoma, Annie Get Your Gun, Phantom of the Opera, Cats, and Chicago. 


In Loving Memory

The Spartanburg Memorial Auditorium is dedicated to the honored memory of the brave men of Spartanburg County who have laid down their lives for their country.

Error Message